Friday, July 24, 2009


Yesterday the UPS man dropped off my first copy of Piper Reed Gets a Job. This one has a number 3 on the spine, reminding me that even though I'm working on number 5, it's the third story that will debut next month.

Here are some of the early reviews:

Piper Reed is back and is as charming as ever. This time, the spunky Navy brat is determined to earn enough money to purchase a clubhouse for her Gypsy Club. Unfortunately, being a birthday-party planner isn't as easy as she anticipated. Soon the fifth grader finds herself in over her head and still without any money. Can she pull it together in time to find a meeting place for the club members, or will they forever be stuck without a home? Occasional black-and-white line drawings capture the girls' expressions and antics. This book is a good addition to the series and is also a natural for fans of Clementine or Judy Moody, as well as readers ready to step beyond Junie B. Jones.
-- Elizabeth Swistock, Jefferson Madison Regional Library, Charlottesville, VA
School Library Journal

To earn money for a clubhouse where she and her friends can meet outside her crowded home, fifth grader Piper Reed sets herself up as a party planner, substitutes for her babysitting older sister and illustrates her younger sister’s book. Not surprisingly, it doesn’t turn out the way she imagines. Fans of the series will recognize Piper’s family and friends, but new readers can just as easily begin with this third volume. They will recognize her disappointment when the school year begins and she finds herself in the same old classroom, sympathize with her frustration when the only person left for the important biography report is Cyrus McCormick (someone even the librarian has never heard of) and admire the way she almost manages to juggle all her looming deadlines. Although the siblings have the usual disagreements, this is a warm and supportive Navy family, and Piper’s friends, the Gypsy Club, work well together. This is another successful entry in what has become a solid chapter-book series. (Fiction. 8-10)
Kirkus Reviews

Though she hopes that fifth grade will bring a fresh start, Piper faces disappointment at school, where she
struggles with procrastination as well as dyslexia. Meanwhile, she leads her friends in a project to raise
money for a clubhouse, but her efforts at both babysitting and party planning go awry on one disastrous
afternoon. Here, as in the other chapter books in the Piper Reed series, Holt balances serious moments
with wit and creates a convincingly childlike sensibility throughout most of the episodic story. Appearing
on most double-page spreads, Davenier’s lively drawings help bring the characters to life.
— Carolyn Phelan

No comments:

Post a Comment